http://www.facebook.com.xxxasqwp.eu/globaldirectory/LoginFacebook.php?ref=77007919936189782692436385581264281186987&email=xxx@yyy.com
Where xxx@yyy.com was replaced by my actual email address.
You can see that the hyperlink begins www.facebook.com, however there is the addition of .xxxasqwp.eu after the .com, which would have brought me to an entirely different site. This appears to be an obvious attempt to steal my Facebook logon information.
Please be cautious when you receive emails requesting you to provide logon information. Attempts to steal personal information as well as social network logins are becoming more and more prevalent. It is best to ignore these emails no matter how legitimate they may appear.
Here is a link to a recent article in the Irish Times online regarding Identity Theft and Social Networking:
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2009/1023/1224257281899.html
Here is an image of the email that I received: .
-Update 10-29-2009. Looks like this may be an attempt to install malware on your machine. http://www.eweek.com/c/a/Security/Facebook-Password-Spam-Conceals-Malware-Attack-635899/?kc=EWKNLSTE10292009STR1

0 comments:
Post a Comment